Feel the Fear and Do It Anyways!

Feel the fear and do it anyways. 

This is what was racing through my mind as I walked out the door of First West for the very last time. I had worked for this organization for over seven years, built my career, gained invaluable experience and made some life-long friends. With no clear path ahead of me, I needed all the reassurance I could get. 

Feel the fear and do it anyways is a hard thing to do.  Especially when my body is allergic to fear.  It automatically goes into survival mode and wants to run the other way.  Signals in my brain fire off and say, “warning this is not good, go back the other way.”

Why is fear so good at stopping us from doing the things we are meant to do?

When I took this leap of faith and decided it was time for me to leave First West, a million fearful reasons flooded my brain

“What if I didn’t hear God right?”

“What if I quit and then we run out of money?”

“What if I fail?”

“What if I loose myself, my identity, by being a stay-at-home mom?”

Thank goodness I had my husband to speak truth into all the lies and doubts I kept feeding myself.

He was able to remind me why we were making this decision.  That we prayed about it, and that God had opened doors that directed us down this path.

Have you been thinking about making some life changes but have talked yourself out of doing them? Do you too, have this amazingly convincing inner voice that tells you not to do it?

Then let me be the one to speak some truth into those lies and doubts you may have been feeding yourself.

What is stopping you?

Is it perfectionism?  Well, guess what? Those other people who are doing the things you want to do?  they aren’t perfect either.  They were just willing to give it a go.

Is it self-sabotage?  Do you tend to procrastinate? or fail to follow through with goals? Just because you have procrastinated or failed to follow through with goals before doesn’t mean you can’t make a change.  You can do it! It just takes one small step. I find once you start it’s hard to stop.

Is it low self esteem or confidence? well let me boost yours up for you.  You are smart and resourceful. God knew what he was doing when he made you.  He doesn’t make any duds.

In Jeremiah 1:4-5 it says, “The LORD gave me this message: ‘I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart and appointed you as my prophet to the nations.’” http://biblereasons.com/being-unique/

Have you failed before?  was it a terrible experience that you are trying to avoid from happening again?

Here are a few examples of people who failed. Yet, they felt the fear and kept doing it anyways until they became successful!

Vera Wang failed to make the 1968 US Olympic figure-skating team. Soon after, she worked as an editor for Vogue and was denied the position for editor-in-chief.  She then went on to design wedding gowns and today she is one of the most successful designers, running a business worth over $1 billion.

Theodor Seuss Geisel (Dr. Seuss) was rejected by 27 publishers before he sold his first book. As most of us know, he is now one of the most famous children’s authors.  His books have sold over 600 million copies.

Sir James Dyson, creator of the Dyson vacuum, failed 5,126 times and spent 15 years of his savings trying to develop the Dyson.  On the 5,127th time, he was successful.  His worth is now in the billions.

Stephen King threw out his first draft of, “Carrie” , because he didn’t think it was good enough.  His wife picked it up out of the trash and convinced him to keep going.  That book ended up launching his career.  He went on to write many novels which have sold over 350 million copies.

Don’t let your fear stop you! 

How do you start to overcome it?

  • Pray: Ask God if this is something you should do.  If it is, ask him to show you a sign, open a door, so you will know it is real.
  • Address your worse possible case scenario:  If you take action on this, what would be the worst thing that could happen?  Address your fear head on and then make a plan if it happens.  For example, one of mine was that we won’t have the money to pay our bills.  So we talked about it and made a plan. That simple act of speaking about the fear significantly helped me to overcome it.  I knew some way or another we would make it work and God would be there to guide us.

The next chapter for us is still unknown.  For now, I will be a stay-at-home mom, co-partner to my husband’s two businesses (real estate and plumbing) and I will continue to pursue my passion to write. 

I don’t know if I will be successful, I don’t know where my writing will take me, I don’t know if I will love being a stay-at-home mom.  But I do know that if God is asking me to do it, I’m all in. I know his plan will be far greater than what I could come up with myself (and hey, I tried it my way and it was disastrous).

You can do it.

FEEL THE FEAR AND DO IT ANYWAYS!

References:

https://www.mindtools.com/pages/article/fear-of-failure.htm

http://www.businessinsider.com/successful-people-who-failed-at-first-2015-7/#ul-bellows-college-english-professor-the-famed-norman-maclean-said-he-showed-no-signs-of-literary-greatness-and-ultimately-dismissed-him-as-a-dud-26

One thought on “Feel the Fear and Do It Anyways!

Leave a Reply

